Subscribe now to access pointwise, categorized & easy to understand notes on 168 key topics of NEET Biology covering entire 2017 syllabus. All the updates for one year are also included. View Features or .

Rs. 300.00 or

Understanding what is Classification

Biological classification

  • The art of identifying distinctions among organisms and placing them into groups that reflect their most significant features and relationship is called biological classification.
  • Biological classification is the process by which scientists group living organisms. Organisms are classified based on how similar they are.
  • Biological classification determined by examining the physical characteristics of an organism but modern classification uses a variety of techniques including genetic analysis.
  • The purpose of biological classification is to organize the vast number of known organisms into categories that could be named, remembered and studied.
  • In 1813 according to “A. P. de Candolle”, Classification… (923 more words) …

Subscribe & login to view complete study material.

History of Taxonomy – Part 2

(5) George Bentham (1800 - 1884) and Joseph Dalton Hooker (1817 - 1911) : -

  • Both Bentham and Hooker were related to Royal botanical garden.

  • Scientists working in botanical garden are known as curator.

  • They wrote the book “Genera plantarum” (1862 - 1883).

    • In this book, Bentham and Hooker gave the biggest and natural classification of spermatophyte i. e. plants with seeds.

    • In Genera plantarum, there is description of 202 families. In it basically the description of plants with seeds is present.

Classification of Spermatophyta.

Classification of Spermatophyta.

Spermatophyta is divided in to three classes and further division also occurs.

Merits of Bentham… (836 more words) …

Subscribe & login to view complete study material.

Sign In