Subscribe now to access pointwise, categorized & easy to understand notes on 304 key topics of NEET (NTA-National Eligibility cum Medical Entrance Test) Biology covering entire 2017 syllabus. All the updates for one year are also included. View Features or choose a topic to view more samples.

Rs. 400.00 or


Based on respiration bacteria are of two types

Aerobic bacteria

These are of two types

  1. Obligate aerobic - These are completely aerobic and die in the absence of 02 e. g. Azotobacter
  2. Facultative anaerobic - These are normally aerobic bacteria but can survive in the absence of O2

e. g. Acetobacter aceti Clostridium tetani

Anaerobic bacteria

These are of two types.

  1. Obligate anaerobic - These are completely anaerobic
… (34 more words) …

Subscribe & login to view complete study material.

Actinomycetes - Filamentous Bacteria

  • They were previously included in Fungi and were known as Ray fungi, because structurally they are similar to fungi.
  • The body of fungi is known as mycelium and the structure of actinomycetes is also similar to mycelium. Therefore they were included in fungi. But fungi are eukaryotic while actinomycetes are prokaryotic. So these are now placed in kingdom Monera.
  • Now their new name is Mycobacteria, Mycelial bacteria or Filamentous bacteria.
… (30 more words) …

Subscribe & login to view complete study material.

f Page
Sign In